Taye Diggs and Phylicia Rashad to Host Drama League Tribute to Audra McDonald; Patti LuPone, Brian Stokes Mitchell to Perform
By Andrew Gans
09 Jan 2013
Taye Diggs
Taye Diggs
Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN
The Drama League will honor five-time Tony Award winner Audra McDonald at its 29th Annual Musical Celebration of Broadway, which will be presented Feb. 11 at the Pierre Hotel.
The black-tie gala, featuring musical selections drawn from McDonald’s career, will be hosted by Taye Diggs and Tony winner Phylicia Rashad.
Performers will include Tony winners Brian Stokes Mitchell, Patti LuPone, Zoe Caldwell, Steve Kazee, Nikki M. James and Anthony Crivello; Broadway veterans David Alan Grier, Victor Garber, Norm Lewis, Mary Testa, Tony Sheldon, Michael Arden, Seth Rudetsky, Nikki Renee Daniels and Valisia Lekae; and New York State Senator Tom Duane (all subject to change and availability).
The production will be directed by Marcia Milgrom Dodge with musical direction by David Evans; it is being produced by Drama League artistic director Roger T. Danforth.

The evening supports The Drama League’s educational initiatives for promising young artists.
The Musical Celebration of Broadway will feature songs from McDonald's many Broadway triumphs, including The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess, Carousel, Ragtime, Master Class, Marie Christine, 110 In The Shade; her operatic and concert work, including her celebrated turns in Passion and Mahagonny; and her award-winning albums “Way Back To Paradise,” “How Glory Goes,” “Happy Songs” and “Build A Bridge.”
Since 1984 The Drama League has honored exceptional artists whose talent and passion have served as a benchmark for others, including Kristin Chenoweth, Liza Minnelli, Angela Lansbury, Patti LuPone, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Chita Rivera, Rosie O’Donnell and Terrence McNally.
Ticket prices start at $750, which includes the cocktail reception, dinner and all performances. For more information, contact The Drama League at (212) 244-9494, ext. 27 or visit http://dramaleague.org.